Gubbio maximum expression of the Umbrian civilization and important centre of roman life, as the “tavole eugubine” testimony namely 7 bronze plates, that can be found at present inside the Civic Museum , are written in the ancient Umbrian language, using the Etruscan and Latin alphabet ; they tell religious facts and information of places and references of the town in its most ancient period.
In 1350 Gubbio was ruled by the Gabrielli family and after many rebellions ,and the intervention of the Papal State, the town was governed by the Montefeltro family of Urbino, and this was a long period of peace.
In 1508 the Montefeltro family yielded the town to the Della Rovere family and these yielded the town to the Pope.
Gubbio built at the foot of Mount Ingino, is one of the most picturesque town not only in Umbria but in Italy, thanks to the Medieval look.Many buildings have a roman structure , an example is the "porta del morto" ,literally “door of the dead”, called in this way because according to a tradition tombs of dead were pushed through the door.
A very curious story is that one of the wolf of Gubbio, they say that was domesticated by S. Francis of Assisi, and “adopted” by the citizen of Gubbio. Lived for many years till its death and buried under the present Savelli della porta street, where during an excavation was found the skeleton of a wolf. Obviously there is no proof that the wolf was exactly that one, but it wasn't a daily men's habit to bury wolfs especially inside medieval towns during those days.